Kevin Bondelli’s YD Blog

Moved to www.kevinbondelli.com

Did I Just get Rejected to Run for Arizona Obama Delegate? I Can’t Tell

Posted by Kevin Bondelli on April 11, 2008

Moved to http://www.kevinbondelli.com/2008/04/11/did-i-just-get-rejected-to-run-for-arizona-obama-delegate-i-cant-tell/

14 Responses to “Did I Just get Rejected to Run for Arizona Obama Delegate? I Can’t Tell”

  1. BIG PAPA Brian Cross said

    I”m sorry Dude that sucks man, they are making a lot of friends on this one, i’ll tell you that :)

  2. Paula said

    Sure sounds like it. The only way you would know though is to contact your party and see if you’re still on the list…
    I’m sure you’ve heard about all the drama here in CA…
    if they dropped a substantial amount of people, it would be worth it to raise hell. We did and everyone was reinstated.

  3. Jake Harvey said

    hmm.. did you respond asking if you were cut or not officially? this stuff is really interesting after reading about what’s going on in CA. i haven’t got an email yet, i really hope they don’t cut me (or you!).

  4. Jake Harvey said

    I JUST got the exact email.

  5. Kevin Bondelli said

    I left a voicemail for the ADP Political Director asking the question, I’ll let you know once I hear.

  6. Kevin Bondelli said

    So I have confirmation that the email is indeed a rejection letter. I don’t yet know how many people were purged.

  7. Toni said

    You should do like Californians did. You should not let some 24 years old make decisions on who who competes cutting people out. Write to news outlets and to state party.

    http://www.venturacountystar.com/news/2008/apr/11/obama-reinstates-846-purged-delegates/

  8. Alan said

    Is this to meet diversity goals? Do you have a young dem goal?

  9. Kevin Bondelli said

    Arizona does have youth goals in its delegate selection plan. Also, at least one of the people that was rejected qualifies for 3 of their diversity goals.

  10. Toni said

    Another article on what happened in Califonia. Any such movement in Arizona?

    http://www.beyondchron.org/articles/Obama_Delegate_Reversal_Shows_He_s_a_People_Powered_Candidate_5559.html

  11. […] Did I Just get Rejected to Run for Arizona Obama Delegate? I Can’t Tell Kevin Bondelli&#8217… Young Voter PAC Statement on Obamas California Delegates Did I Just get Rejected to Run for Arizona Obama Delegate? I Cant Tell Posted by Kevin Bondelli on April 11, 2008 This email just landed in my inbox from the Barack Obama campaign: Dear Kevin Bondelli: Thank you very much for applying to be an Obama At Large Delegate to the Democratic National Convention. When we started this campaign, we knew that our only path to victory was to inspire grassroots activism across our state, and we know you have made that possible. We are thrilled to have so much interest among Arizonans to represent the Obama campaign in Denver. In compliance with the rules of the DNC, the campaign has opted to limit the list of candidates that have filed to run as an at-large delegate. The campaign understands the desire of all of our supporters to participate in this process, but to fully achieve the DNCs goals of a diverse pool of delegates, and to accommodate the time this selection process will take, we have trimmed the list. Please know that we value every single Obama supporter and all of the hard work and energy that you have shown in working to make Senator Obama the Democratic nominee. Our campaign understands and appreciates all of your tireless enthusiasm and commitment to Senator Obama. We thank you for your time and efforts on behalf of our campaign and we look forward to working with you in the upcoming months to elect Senator Barack Obama as President of the United States. Sincerely, (Staffer Name) Alright, youve trimmed the list. I get it. What I dont get is whether or not you trimmed me from the list, which is in my opinion a pretty important piece of information. Nor do you give me any information as to where I can find out if I have been trimmed or who the accepted candidates are. I mean, the election is in two weeks, it would be nice to know. It is important because I need to know how many Young Democrats have been approved to run. I dont care if I cant run, but if a lot of other young delegate hopefuls were cut from the list, I need to start raising hell. "The campaign understands the desire of all of our supporters to participate in this process, but to fully achieve the DNCs goals of a diverse pool of delegates, and to accommodate the time this selection process will take, we have trimmed the list." This was on the radio yesterday…apparently a number of people feel insulted. I must say, I am surprised. I should think that a lottery/drawing would be apt to render most quickly the most diverse group, as well that it would be a more populist gesture, signifying confidence in his popular support. __________________ =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=*2008 Implausible Endeavors LLCImplausibleEndeavors.com =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= […]

  12. […] Comments Developing a Traditi… on Developing a Traditional Media…Ca Dems caucus today… on Did I Just get Rejected to Run…Toni on Did I Just get Rejected to Run…Dred Porter on Developing a Traditional Media…Kevin […]

  13. Toni said

    It is pathetic that they have put five elected officials to run both, as at-large and PLEO-s, when many ordinary people are not allowed to even run once. What diversity criteria does this satisfy? And, with all due respect to Sen. DeConcini, who doesn’t even live in Arizona for most of the time, what part of diversity or hard work for the Democratic Party, let alone the campaign, does he bring to be included in the list? Don’t take me wrong, he deserves to be in the list just like everyone else does but the idea that this list of candidates that they have allowed is somehow representative of diversity or even hard work is preposterous.

  14. Denis said

    Anyone has tried to reach the media, locally or nationally, on this issue?

Leave a Reply

 
